Confessions of a Yogi

I admit it.  I am a yogi and teacher that wears a lot of lululemon clothes.  Is it because I am vain?  No.  Is it because I need to wear labels?  No.  Is it because I am trying to sell my yoga studio by wearing really tight, brightly colored outfits?  No….I don’t think.Kidding, the answer is still no.

The reason I wear lululemon is simple.  I own a studio where I teach everyday, usually more than once.  Also, I have a daily practice.  And finally, I sweat. A lot.  This means, for me, that I need clothes that are going to last a long time, being washed at least once a week.  This also means that they need to not grow three times the original size while I am pouring buckets in the middle of pincha mayurasana during my 90 minute class. And by the way, I want clothes that fit me well even when I am doing the most convoluted yoga pose. It’s no fun to come out of compass only to realize that I’m showing a whole lot more skin than necessary.

I know, I know.  It’s my duty as a respectable yogi to rail against those who try and force the men and women doing downward dog to pay inflated prices to be what one dork calls lemmings in stretchy pants.  But if part of the problem with LLL is their arguably high pricing, why not call out the studios who are nearly pricing people of their practice?

I recycle, I’m a vegetarian, and I buy local when it’s an option.  I do my part to be a conscious human on the planet.  My practice and teaching aren’t compromised by the fact that my butt sometimes features a label that is either the outline of a lady with 60s hairstyle or the omega symbol.  I can’t tell.  Besides, it seems a bit counter-productive to judge a yogi by his or her tank top.

In closing, I would just like to remind us that everyone who comes to a yoga class is in some way trying to better themselves.  That’s a good thing.  So who cares if they decided to go with a LLL outfit or whatever else.  We’re just glad you’re here.

2 Responses to “Confessions of a Yogi”

  1. David Says:

    Amen, sister.

  2. charlotte management training Says:

    I agree! Who cares what you wear to class as long as you are comfortable? Anyways who wouldn’t want to wear nice yoga clothes?? The are so comfortable!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

